Today consisted of heading into the CBD and going to virtually every Fabric Store I could find (Tbh I ended up going to like, 4) and searching to see if they had any fabrics that matched Thranduil’s…. Undershirt, and Skirt thing. I DON’T KNOW THE PROPER TERMS DON’T JUDGE ME D:

As you can see the route around Sydney was, haphazard to say the least (Also not entirely accurate- my phone was about to die so I turned my location services off before we made our way to Town Hall Station at the end but, you know, close enough)

SO.  MUCH. WALKING.

Screenshot_2016-05-19-13-30-47.png
                           Pictured- The clustfrack of a shopping trip “Planned” by yours truly.                  (Thin Blue line represents the route taken after Location Services were turned off)

 

Anyway, so as seen here, the material used for Thranduil’s undershirt and skirt thing is like a black, shiny leather-ish material. But also not leather? Idk, it’s a bit weird and that’s the main point.

3e9dfe54898bd093b270cad16e69a366 (2)
Pictured- Weird material.

 

It’s about as hard to source as DoS Thranduil’s Silver Brocade material is to source. Actually this seemed slightly easier.

I actually walked away with two different samples and wow they are so much softer than I was originally anticipating. Both materials have their pros and cons, but they could also be quite easily used for the piece. In my research I’ve seen a wide range of different materials and patterns used, and most (“Most” being the key word here) still work quite well. BUT. As always I want to try and make it as accurate as possible.
What do you guys think?DSC_0049

 

DSC_0050

 

I’ll be heading out again on Saturday to a different area of Sydney to see what fabrics are available- hopefully cheaper than these were (These weren’t baaaaad, but like, still about $35/m).

At the moment I am sort of leaning towards the first fabric, however there is only 2m of that available and I’m concerned that such an amount will not suffice- especially for a novice sewer. BUT WE’LL SEE. Maybe they can order it in or something for me.

It’s also important though that it flows well. In the film Thranduil’s skirt thing flows incredibly elegantly when he’s taking down Orcs in the City of Dale and while I don’t think I’ll be taking down any armies of a Dark Lord, it still needs to look good. Also because I move quickly and otherwise it’s probably going to tear or some shit.

e460a964d3e8b94d9d026e77de52dfcc
Why yes, all three were completely necessary. 

 

 

Leave a comment